Middle Years Programme (MYP)

The MYP is designed for students aged 11 to 16. It provides a framework of learning that encourages students to become creative, critical and reflective thinkers. The MYP emphasises intellectual challenge, encouraging students to make connections between their studies in traditional subjects and the real world. It fosters the development of skills for communication, intercultural understanding and global engagement—essential qualities for young people who are becoming global leaders.

The MYP is flexible enough to accommodate most national or local curriculum requirements. It builds upon the knowledge, skills and attitudes developed in the IB Primary Years Programme (PYP) and prepares students to meet the academic challenges of the IB Diploma Programme (DP).

The IB Middle Years Programme

  • addresses holistically students’ intellectual, social, emotional and
    physical well-being
  • provides students opportunities to develop the knowledge, attitudes and skills they need in order to manage complexity and take responsible action for the future
  • ensures breadth and depth of understanding through study in eight subject groups
  • requires the study of at least two languages (language of instruction and additional language of choice) to support students in understanding their own cultures and those of others
  • empowers students to participate in service within the community
  • helps to prepare students for further education, the workplace and a lifetime of learning

The Curriculum

The MYP in M1 to M5 consists of eight subject groups:

  • language acquisition [English, French, Swahili],
  • language and literature [English, Swahili],
  • individuals and societies [Geography, History],
  • sciences [Biology, Chemistry, Physics],
  • mathematics,
  • arts [Visual Art, Drama, Music],
  • physical and health education, and
  • design.

Details of the options available for M4 and M5 students are given in the current MYP Handbook.


MYP students around the world are measured against pre-specified standards (called criteria) for each subject group. These standards or criteria are published by the IB. Teachers set assessment tasks that are assessed internally in the school.

At the end of M5 year, students can sit eAssessments which are externally set by IB examiners and are carried out to ensure worldwide consistency of standards.

Students are graded on a scale from 1 to 7, with 4 representing a satisfactory level of achievement and 7 representing an excellent achievement level. Students earn a MYP Record of Achievement which states their academic standard in the eAssessments, along with their involvement with community and service projects. In addition students complete a Personal Project, based on a topic of their own choosing.

The Middle Years Programme
MYP eAssessment