Coronavirus: News & impact on our UWCEA community - Click Here


UWC East Africa is a school established, owned and managed by International School Moshi Ltd, a non-profit private company registered in Tanzania.

The School is independently managed by a Governing Board which consists of members selected by the founding shareholders of the School and two members elected by the Parent-Teacher Association.

The Governing Board

The Board, which carries out its work on a voluntary basis, meets regularly during school term time to establish policy for the organisation, management and future direction of the school. The Board also appoints the School Director and approves all financial expenditure as well as monitoring the work of the Director and administration. UWC East Africa is part of an independent, not-for-profit organisation. Communication with the school is normally through the school Director and should be addressed to


In 1969 The Good Samaritan Foundation (GSF) was in the process of consolidating the establishment of a teaching hospital in Moshi known as the Kilimanjaro Christian Medical Centre (KCMC). In order to serve the needs of expatriate families working with the hospital and other expatriates in northern Tanzania, GSF joined with the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Tanzania and in America, the United Evangelical Mission in Germany and the Baptist Mission to establish an international school in Moshi. These five organisations are the school’s shareholders. The Arusha Campus was established as a day school in 1987 to provide an education for the growing number of families in the fast-expanding town of Arusha, 90km to the west of Moshi. Both campuses now serve Tanzanian and expatriate families living in both Tanzania and elsewhere.


Good Samaritan Foundation (6 shares)

Evangelical Lutheran Church of Tanzania

Evangelical Lutheran Church of America

United Evangelical Mission

Baptist Mission

Board Membership

Mrs. Tine Hemelings (Chair)
Mrs. Monique Janmaat (Vice-Chair)
Mr. Marius Jacobs
Mr. William Kivuyo
Mrs. Rachelly Mboya
Mrs. Hilda Mungure
Dr. Kajiru Kilonzo

Elected by the Parent-Teacher Association:
Mr. Michel Allard
Mr Marco van Zwetselaar

The Director, Finance Manager and both Heads of Campus also attend Board meetings as non-voting members. Board meetings are also attended by staff representatives.